The UK Push: Learning styles and bovver boys

MartinKoomen UK Push

Originally posted on Tulip Education:

I am increasingly concerned by bullying around learning styles arising from a so called globalised spontaneous movement I’ll call the UK Push.  The UK Push into Australia is having a corrosive effect on Australia’s pluralistic educational culture and debates. I do not deny that Australia’s education sector requires attention. I’m arguing that the UK Push is regressive and toxic because it promotes blunt forms of argumentation that do not consider social context. I also consider much of the argument disingenuous in that it is goal oriented and not oriented towards understanding.

Central to my concern is how Australian educators are being harassed in the guise of myth busting using blunt forms of logic. I first became aware of this when I attended my first AARE conference in Melbourne (2016)…

Continue reading original post

